The Jockey Club of Canada is pleased to announce the winners of the 36th Annual Sovereign Awards for excellence in 2010 presented earlier this evening at Woodbine Race Track in Toronto.

<u>OUTSTANDING JOCKEY</u> <u>OUTSTANDING APPRENTICE JOCKEY</u>

EURICO ROSA DA SILVA OMAR MORENO

<u>OUTSTANDING TRAINER</u> <u>OUTSTANDING OWNER IN CANADA</u>

ROGER ATTFIELD SAM-SON FARMS

<u>OUTSTANDING BREEDER</u> <u>OUTSTANDING BROODMARE</u>

ADENA SPRINGS DESTROY

<u>CHAMPION TWO-YEAR-OLD FILLY</u> <u>CHAMPION TWO-YEAR-OLD MALE</u>

DELIGHTFUL MARY MADMAN DIARIES

<u>CHAMPION THREE-YEAR-OLD FILLY</u> <u>CHAMPION THREE-YEAR-OLD MALE</u>

BIOFUEL BIG RED MIKE

<u>CHAMPION OLDER FEMALE</u> <u>CHAMPION OLDER MALE HORSE</u>

IMPOSSIBLE TIME SAND COVE

<u>CHAMPION FEMALE SPRINTER</u> <u>CHAMPION MALE SPRINTER</u>

INDIAN APPLE IS HOLLYWOOD HIT

CHAMPION FEMALE TURF HORSE CHAMPION MALE TURF HORSE

MISS KELLER (IRE) GRAND ADVENTURE

HORSE OF THE YEAR E.P. TAYLOR AWARD OF MERIT

BIOFUEL ROBERT ANDERSON

OUTSTANDING PHOTOGRAPH OUTSTANDING FILM/VIDEO/BROADCAST

TOD MARKS CBC TELEVISION NETWORK SPORTS

OUTSTANDING NEWSPAPER STORY OUTSTANDING FEATURE STORY

BEVERLEY SMTH PERRY LEFKO

For additional information please contact: Stacie Roberts at 416-675-7756 or jockeyclub@bellnet.ca

-30-

Attached in your email you will find a PDF of the ballot results.

On the following page are the points for the top three finalists in each category.

Champion Two Year Old Filly: Delightful Mary 99

Wyomia	64
Roxy Gap	40

Champion Two Year Old Male: Madman Diaries 146 Blue Laser 43 Rockin Heat 21

Champion Three Year Old Filly: Biofuel 144 Free Fee Lady 50 Roan Inish 48

Champion Three Year Old Male:

Big Red Mike 97 No Hesitation 51 Hotep 46

Champion Older Female:

Impossible Time 122 Hooh Why 50 Simply Splendid 27

Champion Older Male:

Sand Cove 99 Stunning Stag 78 Southdale 60

Champion Turf Female:

Miss Keller (Ire) 134 Mekong Melody (Ire) 44 Perfect Shirl 32

Champion Turf Male:

Grand Adventure 105 Rahy's Attorney 63 Windward Islands 34

Champion Female Sprinter:

Indian Apple Is 72 Sugar Again 42 Hohh Why 39

Champion Male Sprinter:

Hollywood Hit	128
Essence Hit Man	54
Smokey Fire	32

Horse of the Year:

Biofuel 95 Miss Keller (Ire) 58 Grand Adventure 26

Outstanding Broodmare:

Destroy 94
Eye of the Sphynx 60
Enchanted Spell34

Outstanding Breeder:

Adena Springs 99 Sam-Son Farm 54 Eugene Melnyk 51

Outstanding Owner:

Sam-Son Farms 92 Melnyk Racing Stables 53 Bear Stables Ltd. 38

Outstanding Trainer:

Roger Attfield 136 Mark Casse 58 Reade Baker 17

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey:

Omar Moreno 143 Ryan Pacheco 57 Brian Cheyne 20

Outstanding Jockey:

Eurico Rosa Da Silva 120 Patrick Husbands 71 Chantal Sutherland 46 Outstanding Newspaper Story:
Beverley Smith 14
Perry Lefko 13
Jennifer Morrison 12
Outstanding Feature Story:
Perry Lefko 15
Keith McCalmont 10
Jennifer Morrison 7

Outstanding Photograph:

Tod Marks 12 Terence Dulay 11 Cindy Pierson Dulay 10

Outstanding Film/Video/Broadcast: CBC Television Network Sports 18 Horse Racing Alberta/WhiteIron 15 ESPN Inc. 11