Avelino Gomez Memorial Award

Gary Stahlbaum Receives Avelino Gomez Award

Champion jockey Gary Stahlbaum, who won 1,759 career races, has been named the 2016 recipient of the Avelino Gomez Memorial Award. His riding résumé features a Sovereign Award (1980) as Canada’s top rider, nearly 120 lifetime stakes triumphs, including 16 graded, and close to $20 million in purse earnings. The Gomez recognition certainly stands out […]

Quincy Welch Named 2015 Recipient of the Avelino Gomez Award

Quincy Welch was named the 2015 recipient of the Avelino Gomez Memorial Award. With 1,855 wins to his name through May 18, including a career-best 173 triumphs in 2004, Welch has maintained his status as one of Canada’s most consistent and capable riders. “After I found out that I was given this honour, I went […]

Patrick Husbands Wins 2014 Avelino Gomez Memorial Award

Patrick Husbands, who guided Hall of Fame hero Wando to a memorable Triple Crown score in 2003, has been named the 2014 recipient of the Avelino Gomez Memorial Award. With more than 2700 wins to his name and a staggering seven Sovereign Awards as the nation’s outstanding rider, Husbands has been a fixture at the […]

Mickey Walls Wins 2013 Avelino Gomez Memorial Award

Mickey Walls, one of Canada’s greatest riding exports, was today named the 2013 recipient of the Avelino Gomez Memorial Award. The coveted Gomez Award is given to the person, Canadian-born, Canadian-raised or regular rider in the country for more than five years, who has made significant contributions to the sport. Born June 1, 1974 in […]

Emile Ramsammy Named 2011 Recipient of Avelino Gomez Memorial Award

Emile Ramsammy, who has been one of North American racing’s most consistent, resilient and successful jockeys, was today named the 2011 recipient of the Avelino Gomez Memorial Award. Born December 11, 1962, Ramsammy first made a name for himself in his native Trinidad, hailed as one of the best jockeys the Caribbean has ever produced. […]