The finalists for the 2021 Eclipse Awards, honouring the top American horses and humans of the year, were announced last week by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, National Turf Writers, and Daily Racing Form.

Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced on TVG, and other outlets, during the 51st annual Eclipse Awards, on Thursday, Feb. 10 at 8 p.m. EST at Santa Anita racetrack. The evening will culminate with the announcement of the 2021 Horse of the Year.

Of the 245 eligible voters represented by the NTRA, consisting of member racetrack racing officials and Equibase field personnel, the NTWAB, and Daily Racing Form, 235 (95.9 percent) took part in the voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

The 2021 Eclipse Awards Finalists, with the exception of Horse of the Year, listed in alphabetical order, are:

2-Year-Old Male: Corniche, Jack Christopher, Modern Games

2-Year-Old Filly: Echo Zulu, Juju’s Map, Pizza Bianca

3-Year-Old Male: Essential Quality, Life Is Good, Medina Spirit

3-Year-Old Filly: Clairiere, Malathaat, Santa Barbara

Older Dirt Male: Knicks Go, Maxfield, Mystic Guide

Older Dirt Female: Letruska, Marche Lorraine, Shedaresthedevil

Male Sprinter: Aloha West, Flightline, Jackie’s Warrior

Female Sprinter: Bella Sofia, Ce Ce, Gamine

Male Turf Horse: Domestic Spending, Space Blues, Yibir

Female Turf Horse: Loves Only You, Santa Barbara, War Like Goddess

Steeplechase Horse: Baltimore Bucko, Snap Decision, The Mean Queen

Owner: Godolphin, Juddmonte Farms, Klaravich Stables

Breeder: Calumet Farm, Godolphin, Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown, Brad Cox

Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr., Flavien Prat, Joel Rosario

Apprentice Jockey: John Hiraldo, Charlie Marquez, Jessica Pyfer

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Justin Mustari will receive the Eclipse Award as the 2021 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.