Nominations for the 88th Prince of Wales Stakes, the second race for the Canadian Triple Crown, have closed and the $400,000 stakes will hit the dirt oval at Fort Erie Race Track on Sept. 12 with what looks to be a full field.

When nominations closed on Aug. 29, a total of 11 horses had their ticket punched to the 1 3/16 mile classic on dirt. This list was packed with heavy hitters including Paramount Prince, who won the first leg of the Triple Crown, the King’s Plate at Woodbine on Aug. 20.

“It’s been a full two decades since the last horse, Wando, captured the Triple Crown back in 2003,” said Fort Erie Race Track’s communication manager, James Culic. “The card is jammed with great horses, but Paramount Prince really put on an impressive display at the King’s Plate, so I think he has a genuine shot at keeping the Canadian Triple Crown dream run going in Fort Erie.”

To do that, Paramount Prince will have to fend off challenges from familiar faces like Stanley House, Velocitor, Cool Kiss, Twin City, Morstachy’s, and Kaukokaipuu, all of whom ran in the King’s Plate and are nominated for the Prince of Wales Stakes as well. The nomination card was rounded out by Armaline, Ottawa, Stayhonor Goodside, and Tiburon.

If all 11 horses remain in good health and make it to the gate on Sept. 12, it will be the largest Prince of Wales Stakes card in two decades. This is despite ongoing challenges with horse supply constraints in Ontario.

Live racing for the big event begins at 1 p.m., with the Prince of Wales Stakes hitting the oval later that afternoon. The track will have food trucks on hand to keep the crowd fed as they take in the Prince of Wales, and the four other stakes races that day, including the Molson Cup, Le Cinquieme Essai Cup, The Rondeau Bay Stakes, and The Lake Erie Stakes. The race card for the 88th Prince of Wales Stakes will be finalized on Sept. 7 during the draw for post positions, which will be live streamed to the track’s YouTube page.


*only Cool Kiss and Stayhonor Goodside have tried dirt

ARMALINE (Army Mule) – 69, 53 – won maiden on grass in 2023 debut, claimed for $25,000, Norm McKnight

COOL KISS (Kantharos) –  72. 73. 71 – 7th Plate, was second in lone dirt attempt, a 7 fur. race at Gulfstream, Mike DePaulo

KAUKOKAIPUU (Mr. Speaker) 35, 84, 76 – 15th Plate, worked at Fort Erie on dirt 49.20 for 4 furlongs, Ted Holder

MORSTACHY’S (Mor Spirit) -57,63, 64  – 14th Plate, Renico Lafond

OTTAWA (Violence)- 80, 81 – maiden, 2nd to Touch ‘n Ride in 1 1/16 race last out, trainer Josie Carroll won 2022 , 2020 ‘Wales

PARAMOUNT PRINCE (Society’s Chairman) – 93, 81, 73 – Won King’s Plate, Mark Casse

STANLEY HOUSE (Army Mule) – 88, 69, 85 – 3rd Plate – trainer Mike DePaulo won Wales with Shillelagh Slew

STAYHONOR GOODSIDE (Honor Code) – 76, 76, 74 – 2nd optional allowance July 23, Casse

TIBURON  (Good Magic)- 68, 68, 45 – 7th Plate Trial, Kevin Attard

TWIN CITY (Klmit)- 71, 73, 65 – 8th Plate, Stuart Simon

VELOCITOR (Mor Spirit) 81, 72, 48 – 4th Plate with 2nd time Lasix; Owners, Ulwellings, trainer Kevin Attard, won 2021 Wales



Year / Winner / Jockey / Trainer / Owner / Time

2022 – Duke of Love, Justin Stein, Josie Carroll, MyRaceHorse Stable 1:58.07
2021 – Haddassah, Gary Boulanger, Kevin Attard, Al and Bill Ulwelling 1:56.15
2020 – Mighty Heart, Daisuke Fukumoto, Josie Carroll, Lawrence P. Cordes 1:55.59
2019 – Tone Broke, Ricardo Santana Jr., Steve Asmussen, L and N Racing 1:56.56
2018 – Wonder Gadot, John Velazquez, Mark E. Casse, Gary Barber 1:58.71
2017 – Cool Catomine, Luis Contreras, John Ross, Jack of Hearts Racing / J.R. Racing Stable Inc. 1:55.63
2016 – Amis Gizmo, Luis Contreras, Josie Carroll, Ivan Dalos 1:56.76
2015 – Breaking Lucky, James S. McAleney, Reade Baker, Gunpowder Farms 1:56.59
2014 – Coltimus Prime, Eurico Rosa da Silva, Justin J. Nixon, Cabernet Racing Stables 1:54.58
2013 – Uncaptured, Miguel Mena, Mark E. Casse, John C. Oxley 1:55.49
2012 – Dixie Strike, Patrick Husbands, Mark E. Casse, John C. Oxley 1:57.54
2011 – Pender Harbour, Luis Contreras, Mike De Paulo, Denny Andrews & Robert Giffin 1:55.74
2010 – Golden Moka, Anthony Stephen, Brian A. Lynch, Good Friends Stable 1:56.45